Log in

CAPMT Lifetime Achievement Award

CAPMT Lifetime Achievement Award for service in music recognizes an individual or a group residing in the same geographic area where the CAPMT State Conference will be held during the award year.


Recognition of deserving individuals and/or groups 

• Increase public awareness for "classical music” in general 

• Increased visibility of CAPMT 


The individual or group nominated for an award should have demonstrated leadership and service in the music community of his or her geographical area over a significant period of time. This might include work as an administrator, donor, volunteer, teacher or performer. Private companies, government agencies and arts support groups are eligible. 


A three-member committee composed of the VP Conferences, as Chairman, the President, and a Member at Large from the area presents a recommendation to the CAPMT Board of Directors at its fall meeting where a final decision is made. (Suggestions from CAPMT members may be submitted to the committee for consideration.) The award will be a plaque or a custom, artistically designed certificate, handsomely framed, citing accomplishments of the individual or group. 

Current  Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

2022 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner


Dr. Martha Baker-Jordan was a Professor of Piano and Piano Pedagogy at California State University, Fullerton, for 34 years where she received numerous awards for teaching excellence and where she designed and implemented both Bachelor and Master’s Degrees in Piano Pedagogy. In addition to many published articles and piano instruction books, she authored "Practical Piano Pedagogy," a 476-page best-selling piano pedagogy text.

Marty was a frequent presenter at state, national and international levels and served in many leadership capacities for the National Conference on Keyboard Pedagogy as well as editing the "Proceedings" several times. She received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Conference on Keyboard Pedagogy in 2011.

2022 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Marienne Uszler

Marienne Uszler was editor of Piano & Keyboard magazine, author of That’s a Good Question, Play It Again, Sam, and Time Flies, and is co-author of The Well-Tempered Keyboard Teacher, Sound Choices: Guiding Your Child’s Musical Experiences, The Pedagogy Major in the College Curriculum: Undergraduate and Graduate Levels, and Teaching Piano Adventures. Recently she co-created the website Beethoven: Independent Man (

She is retired from the University of Southern California School of Music where she was Professor of Keyboard Studies and Director of Undergraduate Studies, and where she established the piano pedagogy program.

For six years she was Editor for Articles and Reviews for American Music Teacher. Her articles, interviews, and critical reviews have appeared in The Piano Quarterly, American Music Teacher, Piano & Keyboard, and Arts and Education Policy Review. She has given workshops and presentations throughout the United States, as well as in England, Canada, Korea, Australia, and Finland.

Past Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

 2021Antoinette Perry, Pianist, Recitalist, Soloist, Chamber Musician, Educator, Past Piano Faculty at UCLA, Current Piano Faculty at University of Southern California Thornton School of Music
 2020Dr. Charles Asche, Pianist, Recitalist, Soloist, Chamber Musician, Educator, Senior Continuing Lecturer in the Keyboard Program at UC Santa Barbara
Gwendolyn Mok, Concert Pianist, Recording Artist, Chamber Musician, Educator, Keyboard Studies Coordinator at San Jose State University
 2018Christopher O’Riley, Pianist, Arranger, Collaborative Artist, Composer, Educator and Media Personality.  Host of NPR’s From the Top for nearly 20 years
 2017William Wellborn, Pianist, Educator, Recording Artist. Wellborn is founding president of the San Francisco Bay Area Chapter of the American Liszt Society; he also serves as Vice-President for the San Francisco Council of the Chopin Foundation.
 2016Morty and Iris Manus, Founder of Alfred Music Publishing
 Dr. E.L. Lancaster, Senior Vice President and Keyboard Editor-in-Chief of Alfred Music
 2015Frederica von Stade, World-Renowned Mezzo Soprano
 Edward A Francis, Pianist, Educator, Administrator, Arts Advocate
 2014Stephen McCurry, Executive Director of Pasadena Conservatory of Music

Barbara Day Turner, Music Director of San Jose Chamber Orchestra 


Dorothy Barnhouse, Singer, Teacher, Founder of Musica en los Barrios, Managua
 2011Francoise Regnat, Pianist, Master Teacher 
 2010Jane Smisor Bastien, Master Teacher
 Joseph Matthews, Master Teacher 
 2009Vance George, Choral Conductor, Master Teacher
 2008Stewart Gordon, Pianist, Teacher, Recording Artist, Author
 2007Hans Boepple, Concert Pianist, Master Teacher, Recording Artist
 2006Daniel Pollack, Concert Artist, Master Teacher, International Juror